Skip to content

About Me

Last updated February 27, 2024 from my home in Bogot谩.

If you want to know more about my work, check out my LinkedIn. If you want to know more about me in general, here you go 馃憞

The Basics

I鈥檓 precisely 33 years and 116 days old. I was born on January 1st, 1991 which isn鈥檛 that great since it鈥檚 quite hard to get any kind of celebration going when everyone is traveling, hungover, or both. Logically I had to do something about it so I鈥檝e celebrated my birthday on April 20th since ~15 years ago. Some years I鈥檝e celebrated my birthday on 3 different dates!

My parents are both Colombian and I was born and raised in Bogot谩 with my sister Paloma (or Paloca, as my kids call her). I鈥檓 happily married to my lifelong girlfriend. As of today, we鈥檝e been together for over 14 years. We got married in 2018 and had Franco and Luca (the super twins 馃懚馃徏馃懚馃徏) in 2022. They are rambunctious, amazing, uncontrollable balls of chaos and joy. Not coincidentally, we don鈥檛 have any more kids. Also, having twins is great exercise: I lost 14kg since they were born (and I鈥檓 a voracious eater, especially when it comes to rice).

These 2 are like 90% of my free time. I love it.

Hobbies and Passions

Technology has been a lifelong passion. I never liked soccer (quite rare in Colombia) and grew up glued to whatever videogame I could get my hands on 馃懢. Fun fact, I learned English through online gaming! Since I spent so much time in front of computers I ended up loving tech and being quite a proud geek. Other than gaming, I enjoy a good beer (even better in good company), making friends, traveling and a good BBQ. Most of all, I love spending time with my family, both immediate and extended.

My other great passion is being a Maker. I love to create new things: companies, work projects, household renovations or furniture, prototypes, cooking recipes, activities, games for the kids, you name it. I鈥檓 the kind of guy with a rack full of tools, a 3D Printer and a Raspberry Pi, constantly tinkering 馃О.

Work = Play

I鈥檝e been blessed with working in my passions and making decent money while at it. Most people know me not for my tech side but because I build companies. I鈥檝e created 4 companies, of which 2 went broke and 2 I managed to sell.

Finco was an amazing adventure.

Building companies has been a family tradition for a couple of generations now. My dad is a successful entrepreneur (currently building new ventures as well!) and his father before him too. I鈥檓 constantly on the lookout for new opportunities, although lately, I鈥檝e been more interested in less tech-heavy businesses.

I code in Python and Javascript/TypeScript, but life has made me specialize in Data Science. I try to do Backend and Frontend development often to keep my skills in check. I have had to code for my startups, but I also do consulting (particularly in entrepreneurship and Data Science) and employ myself to work with amazing people I can learn from when not building a company, so I鈥檓 mostly busy on one project or another. I did take one nice sabbatical with the babies when Finco got sold 馃ぉ.